President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for South Carolina

Release Date: November 22, 2022

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of South Carolina to supplement state, local and tribal recovery efforts in the areas affected by Hurricane Ian beginning Sept. 25 to Oct. 4, 2022.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Charleston, Georgetown and Horry counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, lowinterest loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Residents and business owners in the designated areas can apply for disaster assistance at www.DisasterAssistance.gov, by calling 800-621-3362 or by using the FEMA mobile app. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.

Federal funding is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Ian in Berkeley, Charleston, Clarendon, Georgetown, Horry, Jasper and Williamsburg counties.

Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Kevin A. Wallace, Sr. has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date.

